Home MPHCA at the 30th Annual Conference - Caring Together Toward Tomorrow


MPHCA at the 30th Annual Conference - Caring Together Toward Tomorrow

Posted: 29-Jun-2017

Hundreds of Mississippi Health Center officials and staff gathered in Biloxi to discuss the past, present, and future of healthcare in our state. Mississippi Primary Health Care Association Conference kicked off the 30th Annual Conference - Caring Together, Toward Tomorrow at the Golden Nugget Casino on May 30, 2017. The conference featured a variety of national and local speakers from the healthcare industry and over 37 sponsors and vendors. Health care innovation, integration and impact was the main focus, along with illness prevention through addressing the social determinants of health, oral and behavioral health services, and responding to changes in healthcare delivery in Mississippi.

Kicking the conference off was Dr. Tom Ward's presentation of his book "Out in the Rural: A Mississippi Health Center and Its War on Poverty" The book focuses on a Great Society project, the Tufts-Delta Health Center in Mound Bayou, Miss., the first rural community health center in the U.S. Situated in one of the most impoverished areas of the nation, the Tufts-Delta Health Center became the model for the now more than 1,300 health centers that serve over 25 million Americans annually.

MPHCA's milestone conference had over 38 guest speakers, two networking events, the Employee Awards Celebration, and the Glitz & Glamour Gala. Over 275 people representing Mississippi Community Health Centers, medical professionals and related professions attended the event. Attendees received over 43 hours of continuing education credits for nurses, medical professionals, dentist and social workers during the conference. 

On Wednesday, MPHCA recognized community health staff at the 2017 Employee Awards Celebration. Each year health care workers are nominated by their centers to receive recognition for the outstanding work they do. This year's winners were:

  • Dr. William Booker: Aaron Shirley Distinguished Indigent Care Award
  • Karen Ross: Advanced Practice Professional
  • Marilyn Hilton: Ancillary Services
  • Robert Funchess: Chief Financial Officer
  • Jimmie Smith: Board Member of the Year
  • Dr. Carolyn Eubanks: Dentist of the Year
  • Courtney C. Jones: General Administration
  • Tiffani Grant: Health Care Professional Support
  • Wilson Rice: Media Personality of the Year
  • Lillie Brewer: Medical Records Front Desk Billing 
  • Yvonne Moore: Nurse of the Year
  • Nadean Randle: Social / Outreach Worker of the Year
  • Dr. Teresa McKetney: Physician of the Year
  • John A Fairman: Executive Director of the Year

One of the highlights was the Thursday Luncheon with motivational speaker, Jay Hewitt. He is an athlete, attorney and professional speaker.  He is the only person with Type 1 diabetes to qualify for the U.S. National Long Course Triathlon Team, racing three years for Team USA at the World Championships in Denmark, Sweden and Australia. He raced 14 ultra distance and Ironman triathlons - a 2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike race and 26.2-marathon mile run - 140 miles in one day, all while injecting insulin and managing his blood sugar.  At the same time, he balanced work and life practicing business litigation as trial counsel and argued appeals to the South Carolina Supreme Court and the U.S. Court of Appeals. Learn proper blood sugar management and motivation to overcome obstacles and achieve goals in life and work. Attendees were inspired by his message of having a 'finish line vision.'  He was able to connect with the audience, and tied his message to the work community health centers do daily. 

Then that night, MPHCA held the Black & White Glitz and Glamour Gala with music by Compositionz. The Golden Nugget Ballroom was transformed for a magical evening of ballroom dance demonstrations, food, and fun to mark the 30th anniversary of the Annual Conference. During the evening, three more awards were presented.

  • James Hodges: MPHCA Member of the Year
  • Rep. Bennie Thompson: President's Award
  • American Cancer Society: Community Partner Award
The Mississippi Primary Health Care Association, the Program & Marketing Committee, our members and staff, want to thank everyone for making our 30th Annual Conference – Caring Together Toward Tomorrow a success.

Go Back